Author Topic: Scam Aimed at Trainers  (Read 1653 times)

Meshelle

• Getbig II
Scam Aimed at Trainers
« on: November 20, 2008, 10:46:34 AM »
I know 2 female personal trainers who have been hit with this. Be aware and beware.

FITNESS TRAINING SCAM  (from personal experience)

After 8 years of being a personal trainer, I actually responded to this one! I am sharing this information because I want to make sure that NO OTHER reputable trainer is ever faced with the same situation.

This turned out to be a mass email so if it will help just one other person avoid the situation, this will be worth posting...PLEASE feel free to post my story anywhere you think it may help other fitness and/or personal trainers avoid this scam or ones like it!

I received an email from a girl named “Kimberly Henderson.”  In it, she stated she was studying abroad and was going to be entering West Point Academy for military training.  She wanted to train with me for two solid weeks in preparation for the physical part of the program.  I have previously trained clients that have come to me through other international competitors over the years, so this situation was not all that uncommon to me. I even researched the person she claimed to be her father, Rear Admiral Ronald H. Henderson (USN). He is, in fact, the current Defense Attaché to the U.K.

I responded cautiously that I might be interested in the task and that if she was willing to travel thousands of miles for training, then I would try to make the necessary time to train her.

Five days later, I received an email from a second email address representing themselves as "Rear Admiral Ronald Henderson"...the email introduced him, his busy life, and his intentions for his daughter's training. Attached were the REAL Admiral Henderson's picture and an actual speech the admiral delivered onboard the USS John F. Kennedy on the eve of Operation Enduring Freedom.