Author Topic: Living with BPD  (Read 7007 times)

Brixtonbulldog

• Getbig V
  • TAKE YO FUCKING JACKET WIT YA
Living with BPD
« on: August 16, 2009, 04:58:30 PM »
My ex and I are still close and we hung out yesterday.  Had a good time but she told me she thinks she is a "borderline personality."  Anyone who knows about this knows how devastating this disorder can be and I just started reading about it.  Everything seems accurate and describes her issues It can be just as destructive to friends, family, and relationships as it is to the individual.

Anyone has any personal experience with this or dealing with someone suffering from it?  I feel there isn't much I can do to help especially since we're dealing with the break-up at the same time.

tonymctones

• Getbig V
Re: Living with BPD
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2009, 06:53:46 PM »
ask her if she has ever thought about seeing a therapist, its really easy to self diagnose yourself with disorders, illness, sickness etc...I studied psych in college and every new disorder we went over I could see myself exhibiting some of those symptoms. I would definitly push her to at least sit down with a psychologist or psychiatrist and have a conversation with them. If you two end up staying together then I would recommend you that you either see her therapist with her or seperate, like you said these disorders can be very destructive to relationships, family, life in general and you knowing more about her situation(if it is indeed what she thinks it maybe) will help you two deal with it together and help you understand what the disorder is and how you may be able to help the situation as well.

If she does decide to see a therapist I cant stress this enough DO SOME RESEARCH on them dont just go pick one out of the yellow pages.