Author Topic: newbie  (Read 1554 times)

koan

• Getbig I
« on: August 23, 2006, 06:27:11 PM »
NEED HELP! i am completely new to this sport. was in decent shape years ago, while active in USMC, but packed on quite a few pounds in the decade since. lost approx 80 pounds over the last year, but lost much muscle mass with it. am currently in that "awkward" phase. have access to a gym (at my apt complex), but learning thru books has only gotten me so far. if anyone can recommend a program i would greatly appreciate it. i have the motivation. i have the dedication. what i lack is the practical knowledge. hope someone can help.

Jr. Yates

• Getbig V
Re: newbie
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2006, 06:45:09 PM »
You will have to set something up that works around your every day life. for example: since Last september i have been doing 3 on,1 off,2 on, 1 off....training one bodypart a day. It went, Chest,legs,shoulders,off,arms,back,off.   I've now switched it to a 4 day split, pairing 2 muscles together. whatever split you choose for yourself, the workouts shouldn't be too long (about an hour to 1.5 hours) for larger muscle groups (legs,chest,back) i'd do about 12-18 sets and smaller muscle groups (bis,tris,shoulders) i'd do about 9-12 sets. 3 sets of each excersise,rep ranges of 8-10. I think thats a pretty good beginner set up, but you will get some more advice pretty soon here. good luck!
bodybuildersreality.com

koan

• Getbig I
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2006, 07:01:01 PM »