Author Topic: Some thoughts on the IFL "Team Concept"  (Read 1308 times)

Thin Lizzy

• Getbig V
  • It’s all a fraud
Some thoughts on the IFL "Team Concept"
« on: May 01, 2006, 08:47:40 PM »
I had the opportunity to attend the IFL event in Atlantic City this weekend. Here are a few observations:

First, a bit about my background. I've been training BJJ on and off at Renzo's since 1996. I'm currently training 2-3 times a week. In addition, I've been following MMA since UFC 1 and am familiar with most of the MMA organizations.

Overall, it was a decent card with well trained athletes. Pat Militech's team in particular brought a lot of intensity to the table.

One guy to keep an eye from Renzo's team is 185lb  Delson  "Pe De Chumbo" Helano. I first saw him at the 2003 BJJ World's, where he was a standout. Athletically, he's a freak of nature, incredibly quick hips, and he's dangerous both standing and on the ground. He knocked his opponent, Dennis Hallman, into another time zone with a heel kick from the ground. However, the kick was deemed illegal and Delson was DQ'd. The crowd wasn't happy. When I got home I read the rules which didn't specifically state that a fighter couldn't kick from the bottom, so the DQ was incorrect.

As far as the team concept, it doesn't make sense. They had the teams compete against each other in a best of five series (each team has five fighters) and the winning teams move on to face each other at a later date.

Fortunately, both matches were tied at 2 wins apiece going into the fifth fight, so the concept worked on that night. However, had one team swept the series 3-0, or won 3-1, the last fight or last two fights would've been meaningless. It's akin to two baseball teams playing each other in a best of five series, one team sweeping the series 3-0, but they play the last two meaningless games anyway.

In addition, having entire teams move on as opposed to individuals is absurd. Here's why: