Author Topic: Coming back after illness or lay off  (Read 849 times)

oldtimer1

• Getbig V
  • Getbig!
Coming back after illness or lay off
« on: October 20, 2023, 02:24:32 PM »
Cliff notes: Use high reps for awhile.

These are my thoughts just based on empirical knowledge I have gained.  Maybe I can humbly suggest maybe what follows could help others. I have been lifting for around 51 years. I have no potential or natural attributes for the sport of bodybuilding. I don't even call myself a bodybuilder but my basement gym might contradict that point, lol. 

The point of writing this is because of my health problems. For roughly 6 weeks I have felt like hell including two ER visits. I won't get into my health problems.  Sometimes for many trainers it isn't even health problems that makes them back pedal on training. It could be a busy time of year for  their work schedule. The thing is especially with older lifters who take zero testosterone derivatives it can be hard to come back after back sliding.

Here are my thoughts that have been successful in my past. To reiterate I have been having health issues but I'm feeling better now. No, I'm not cured but I feel pretty good finally. One thing for sure is that I'm sick of doctor visits.  In past decades I had to come back from an arm operation to repair a completely detached bicep and another maybe living the too a good life of eating like a hog and drinking. Now I face the current challenge of being 65 and not really feeling my best but all things considered I'll take it as a win my current health.