Getbig Main Boards > Gossip & Opinions

The Mr. Olympia, REAL or FIXED?

(1/10) > >>

OneMoreRep:
As I was finishing that last grueling rep with a 25 lb dumbbell this morning at the iron asylum, many thoughts crossed my mind, thoughts that although meaningless to many, hold so much value for fans of this sport like myself. I'm not a competitor, I'm not a promoter and I'm not judge, I am but a mere fan of this sport that would like to hear your responses to what I consider a phenomenon that has slowly morphed this industry to something which it wasn't many years ago.

Throughout the many years that the Mr. Olympia has graced our eyes, it never fails to make me wonder that maybe, behind the scenes, the Weider boys and their new cronies in charge of sales have stuck to some sort of hidden agenda.  Many of you here have mentioned that whenever an actual Mr. Olympia champion, the likes of Ronnie, is present that no one else has a chance, because it's not common practice for a reigning champion to be dethrowned.  Why is that?  We don't need to be a bunch of judges sitting in little booths across from the stage to be able to say that many times the reigning champ lacks many things that the underdog has, so what gives?

To add to that, how many times will we sit around and allow for gift placings to be handed down to the likes of guys like Gunter, who although a hell of a nice guy to everyone, doesn't have the frame or overall asthetics to save his life in an amateur contest?  Now, Im not a supporter of any particular Pro, but I do find that a many times throughout the last few years, the Mr. Olympia contest seemed fixed, because you can't honestly tell me that Ronnie truly beat out guys like Cutler circa 2001/2002 or even a guy like Dexter who comes in looking close to perfect from head to toe.  Is the Mr. Olympia a size contest or is it a bodybuilding contest?