Author Topic: Throw me some tips at personal training!  (Read 5639 times)

figgs

• Getbig IV
  • from realization to infinity
Throw me some tips at personal training!
« on: July 01, 2007, 03:02:41 PM »
I'm fresh out of high school and am preparing to become a personal trainer. I'm just getting started now with chosing a certifying body. Here's my first few questions:

-Do certain gyms only hire trainers under specific certifications?
-Will I have a hard time finding a job compared to someone who paid $600 to become certified?
-Does it matter if I don't know advanced kinseology and physiology but am a wiz at exercise and nutrition? Is a certifying body that requires one to know about that advanced subject better than one that doesn't?

Also, do you have any tips on how best to interact with my clients? How do I keep them motivated and to not fear to make an effort? How do I keep them coming back to me?

Thanks!
~

warrior_code

• Getbig III
Re: Throw me some tips at personal training!
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2007, 03:05:31 PM »
If you are more into serious training I suggest you go more into the strength/conditioning field.  More money in this area as well if you get the right position. 

G o a t b o y

• Time Out
  • Getbig V
  • Time-Out in Dubai, India with Swampi the Cocksmith
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2007, 03:09:00 PM »
Also, do you have any tips on how best to interact with my clients?

Lie about your age and experience.

Most people who can afford a personal trainer are 30's, 40's or older.  Most of these people think 18 year old kids know jack shit.  And, for the most part, they're right!  :D
Ron: "I am lazy."

figgs

• Getbig IV
« Reply #3 on: July 01, 2007, 03:35:21 PM »
If you are more into serious training I suggest you go more into the strength/conditioning field.  More money in this area as well if you get the right position. 

I'm looking to work in a local gym as a trainer. What kind of jobs are you suggesting?

Lie about your age and experience.