Author Topic: Any acoustic engineers out there? Need some advice about soundproofing.  (Read 1092 times)

galain

• Getbig IV
  • Getbig!
I teach Japanese taiko drumming for a living. I usually teach in groups of 7-9 drummers. I'm thinking of buying or building a house with an attached dojo space (about 50-60sq meters). In my part of Germany there are lots of old houses with barns that I could convert, but from what I've heard, there can be lots of hidden costs in renovating a 200+ year old building. A new house would have pretty much most of the costs visible and up front.

My options are a room within a room situation with an older house/barn or stable, or a separate newly built space. Going underground with a cellar room is too expensive.

Has anyone got any experience with sound dampening? Right now it's more important to stop sound getting out of the room and reaching any neighbours, than it is to keep it down inside the room. We all wear earplug during practice anyway.

If anyone out there has any experience, I wouldn't mind running some of the building options I've seen past you.

Thanks in advance.

B_B_C

• Getbig IV
  • change is the lot of all
Re: Any acoustic engineers out there? Need some advice about soundproofing.
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2013, 06:57:51 AM »
Sound damping (absorption) is not the same as sound proofing though it is in many respect an easier and cheaper way to reduce sound transmission beyond the immediate area

many things can be used to increase sound absorption; slotted dry lining to walls, slotted / louvred ceilings with rock/ glass wool insulation behind the linings. draught seals to doors and windows, dense hedging around the noise chamber (in the way shrubbing is used to reduce road noise. Even heavy curtains & carpets will reduce the sound level though may affect your experience of the sound. Have the room at ground level as sound will travel further from above as there will be less absorbing obstructions.