Author Topic: rack pull  (Read 2022 times)

trapz101

• Getbig IV
  • team 'THE CORN'
rack pull
« on: May 03, 2014, 05:51:51 PM »
haven't done them in a while so thinking of give it a try today
usually i will do them last but is it okay if i do them first?plan to do 6-8 sets of them
and how high do you place the bar?knee level?just below?in the middle from ground to knee?
T

chaos

• Getbig V
  • Ron "There is no freedom of speech here" Avidan
Re: rack pull
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2014, 07:02:57 PM »
I'm not an expert, but I set the bar as low as I can to still come all the way down and get a full stretch. I've seen someone lay a plate on their chest to make it harder.
???

Just below the knees is where I start from.
Liar!!!!Filt!!!!

Montague

• Getbig V
  • The black degelation does not know this nig - V.G.
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2014, 07:51:59 PM »
???

X2. I feel that's about the point at which the back takes over the movement from the legs. Many critics of rack deads claim the shorter stroke makes the movement easier, but I don't believe that's entirely true. By removing the legs from the beginning of the rep, the bar has no momentum by the time it reaches the starting point of the partial.

And, if you refrain from bouncing the bar off of the pins, every rep will possess that quality. Thus, the only muscle(s) partial deads are easier on are your legs. I honestly don't believe that they rob your back of anything.

trapz101

• Getbig IV
  • team 'THE CORN'
« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2014, 03:49:57 AM »
it's actually harder for me to do rack pull than doing full deads
did them today only get the rack set at the mid shin
can feel the legs doing a little work(about 20-30%) of it
T

Dicki_Nurmom

• Getbig II
  • FILT RULES!
« Reply #4 on: May 05, 2014, 04:08:28 AM »