Recipients of the 2006 FLEX Awards
By Rob Wilkins, Special Assistant to the IFBB
October 13, 2006

  • In an effort to recognize and celebrate physical excellence, positive contributions to the industry and hard work, the inaugural FLEX Awards presentation took place in conjunction with the Olympia Victory Gala, September 30th at the Orleans Hotel, Las Vegas, Nevada.

    Bob Cicherillo, the IFBB Athlete Representative (for men's bodybuilding) served as the host of the ceremony and presenting the awards were Ben Weider, IFBB President and Dr. Rafael Santonja, President, European Bodybuilding and Fitness Federation (EBFF).

    The following are the recipients of the FLEX Awards:

    Rookie of the Year:

    • Phil Heath Male bodybuilder
    • Gina Alliotti Figure competitor

    Most Improved:

    • Toney Freeman Male bodybuilder
    • Lisa Auckland Female bodybuilder

    2006 Athlete of the Year:

    • Jay Cutler Male bodybuilder
    • Betty Pariso Female bodybuilder

    Vanguard Award:

    • Lee Haney 8x Mr. Olympia

    Congratulations to all the FLEX Award nominees and award recipients! They are a great inspiration and serve as outstanding role models for the entire industry.

    Ben Weider with Phil Heath

    Ben Weider with Betty Pariso

    Ben Weider, Lee Haney and Rafael Santonja