Author Topic: Decline press  (Read 4438 times)

oldtimer1

• Getbig V
  • Getbig!
Decline press
« on: March 21, 2020, 11:31:43 AM »
I tried decline pressing in the commercial gym and was pleased it didn't aggravate my bad shoulder. I just bought a decline bench for my home gym.  I am new to the movement. Any tips on doing it?  Using Dumbbells do you dump them when finished or attempt to sit up with the weight?  Another motivator to buy it was watching a video by Yates praising the movement as a great chest movement. In the past I never bothered with the movement in commercial gyms or at work gyms due to what I perceived as a danger if I failed with a rep.  Going to use dumbbells at home. 

Primemuscle

• Getbig V
Re: Decline press
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2020, 11:47:46 AM »
When doing these at home, it is good you will be using dumbbells as opposed to a barbell. If you can sit up with the weight, more power to you. I'd dump them if it were me. Of course, this also depends on your home gym's floor construction.

Some folks find declines more difficult than flat bench presses. I actually think they are easier. Doing them at the gym, I use a Smith rack. It can be interesting getting in and out of position on this, but since you can lock the weight out at any point and also limit how low you go with it, it is much safer. I've also done them on the typical decline bench at the gym. Ask someone to spot you. This really gives you the confidence you need to push out a couple more reps.

I'm not going to the gym this weekend even though it is still open. Instead, I am going to figure out what I can do at home. Our governor has issued a stay at home directive, but it isn't mandated yet. We will see what happens by Monday.

IroNat

• Getbig V
  • Time you enjoy wasting, was not wasted.
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2020, 12:33:58 PM »
There was a famous bodybuilder who really liked declines.

Vern Weaver.