Author Topic: Anyone taken the NASM test? Questions...  (Read 8610 times)

donrhummy

• Getbig IV
  • Getbig!
Anyone taken the NASM test? Questions...
« on: November 29, 2006, 02:34:27 PM »
I'm studying for the NASM personal trainer test and there's a TON of information that no trainer I've ever talked to knows. Do I really have to know everything in the study materials?

For example, do i need to know that the articulus genu originates at the anterior surface of the distal femoral shaft, inserts at the proximal synovial membrane of the knee, has the isolated function of pulling the synovial membrane and capsule superiorly during extension to avoid pinching, has the intergrated function of eccentrically decelerating knee flexion and internal rotation, and that it's innervation is the femoral nerve? Seriously, is stuff like this on the test? There's a LOT of that info on every muscle in the body.

Also, anyone know if the test is multiple choice, fill in the blanks, etc?

Thanks, just trying to get a general sense of what I should be concentrating on.

americanbulldog

• Getbig IV
Re: Anyone taken the NASM test? Questions...
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2006, 02:39:24 PM »
McDermott's test is tough, as is the practical.  Good luck.

johnnynoname

• Getbig V
  • i have a face like a shovel
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2006, 02:40:43 PM »
good luck

nasm is a tough exam

they are really into using the swiss balls and proproceptive training and shit like that

eastcoastbbman

• Competitors
  • Getbig III
  • Getbig!
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2006, 03:24:31 PM »
ive been certified through n.a.s.m. since 1996. yes, the test is difficult. yes, they want you to actually know things. can you imagine that??? they want you to have a working knowledge of the human body.