Author Topic: How alpha should you be with your dog?  (Read 67433 times)

Notomorrow

• Getbig IV
How alpha should you be with your dog?
« on: March 04, 2017, 11:30:52 AM »
I've heard some people say its crucial to be very alpha..especially with a smaller dog...they are pack animals and look for a leader. How far should you take it? Some people say never walk behind your dog..either side by side or lead...always eat before the dog as pack leaders eat first....even some like exercises where you like hold the dog down for a brief period to show control.

I'm new to dog training...any advice on how alpha you should be with a dog is appreciated...I just love the dog..feed it and walk it...how important is showing alpha dominance to a smaller breed dog?

Agnostic007

• Getbig V
Re: How alpha should you be with your dog?
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2017, 09:09:28 PM »
I've heard some people say its crucial to be very alpha..especially with a smaller dog...they are pack animals and look for a leader. How far should you take it? Some people say never walk behind your dog..either side by side or lead...always eat before the dog as pack leaders eat first....even some like exercises where you like hold the dog down for a brief period to show control.

I'm new to dog training...any advice on how alpha you should be with a dog is appreciated...I just love the dog..feed it and walk it...how important is showing alpha dominance to a smaller breed dog?

Not that important with a smaller breed. The thinking is, a dog will challenge you for alpha.. a yorkie isn't that big of a concern.. a shepherd, or larger breed, you need to reinforce the alpha male occasionally. Any roughhousing with your larger breed should end with you the winner, typically with them on their back your hands around their throat with light to moderate pressure until they stop struggling.. 

Princess L

• Getbig V
  • I stop for turtles
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2017, 08:55:40 AM »