Author Topic: treadmill???  (Read 5160 times)

wild willie

• Getbig V
treadmill???
« on: May 19, 2009, 02:46:07 PM »
In regards to the treadmill, how fast should I be walking in order to burn fat effectively???? Is an incline necessary for fat burning??? Thanks in advance.

Andy Griffin

• Getbig V
  • I know my own name, bitch.
Re: treadmill???
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2009, 03:39:24 PM »
In regards to the treadmill, how fast should I be walking in order to burn fat effectively???? Is an incline necessary for fat burning??? Thanks in advance.

Some excellent info about walking for weight loss, etc., is available at http://walking.about.com/

~

YoungBlood

• Getbig V
  • Weee!
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2009, 05:03:00 PM »

I've been doing post-workout cardio for the last 2 years now. I've never gone over more than 2.8mph...people look at me and "order" me to walk or run faster. I go by my heart rate, and if it's not in the range of 130-140, I use the incline to raise my HR.

Princess L

• Getbig V
  • I stop for turtles
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2009, 07:10:06 PM »
I've been doing post-workout cardio for the last 2 years now. I've never gone over more than 2.8mph...people look at me and "order" me to walk or run faster. I go by my heart rate, and if it's not in the range of 130-140, I use the incline to raise my HR.

What incline at 2.8?  That seems awfully slow to achieve a H/R of 130-140.
:

chaos

• Getbig V
  • Ron "There is no freedom of speech here" Avidan
« Reply #4 on: May 19, 2009, 07:45:42 PM »
First thing I thought of.......seems like a slow mph to achieve 130-140HR. :-\
Liar!!!!Filt!!!!

Montague

• Getbig V
  • The black degelation does not know this nig - V.G.
« Reply #5 on: May 19, 2009, 08:30:43 PM »
YB might have a higher than average pulse.

My resting heart rate used to fall between 85-95 bpm depending on breathing, and that was when I did an hour of cardio divided between the Stairmaster, cross-trainer, and treadmill on a regular basis.