Author Topic: Rooney Rule  (Read 5643 times)

mass 04

• Getbig V
Rooney Rule
« on: January 02, 2011, 05:36:14 PM »
With all the standard end of year coaching changes, if a team knows the guy they want, why waste everyones time with a pointless interview? I'm all for equality in the league, but if Dallas wants to keep Garrett, why interview a minority? If I was a black coach, and some team called me in for a "token" interview, I wouldn't be pleased. I guess they get some interview experience, but how intensive could they be if the team knows they are not hiring the guy?

body88

Re: Rooney Rule
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2011, 07:20:29 PM »
With all the standard end of year coaching changes, if a team knows the guy they want, why waste everyones time with a pointless interview? I'm all for equality in the league, but if Dallas wants to keep Garrett, why interview a minority? If I was a black coach, and some team called me in for a "token" interview, I wouldn't be pleased. I guess they get some interview experience, but how intensive could they be if the team knows they are not hiring the guy?

I guess the rule was instituted because of the huge percentage of African American players vs. the lack of black head coaches.

With hundreds of millions of dollars on the line, I think it's safe to assume an owner would hire anyone who could get them wins.

Black, white, green, orange...the cream always rises to the top.

Andy Griffin

• Getbig V
  • I know my own name, bitch.
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2011, 05:56:25 PM »
The NFL is well known for its symbolism over substance policies as well as its self-congratulatory attitude regarding such policies. 
~

Agnostic007

• Getbig V
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2018, 03:36:02 PM »