Author Topic: NASM cert is $900 now? WTF  (Read 1019 times)

ProudVirgin69

• Getbig V
  • hardcore redneck electric champion
NASM cert is $900 now? WTF
« on: March 24, 2024, 02:20:05 AM »
I’ve been looking into training some people from the neighborhood in my garage as a way to make some extra cash and I wanted to get certified to obtain liability insurance.  I was a personal trainer over ten years ago and did the NASM certification back then and it was like $150 back then.  Went on to the website to buy the course and they are charging $900 for it now—and that’s one of the least expensive options.

Who tf do they think they are charging that much??  All the personal trainer certificates short of CPT are pretty much worthless, you just need it to look “legit” and qualify for insurance.  Back to the drawing board I suppose.

BB

• Getbig V
  • I hope I'm not boring you.
Re: NASM cert is $900 now? WTF
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2024, 02:37:46 AM »
ACE is a tiny bit cheaper, and still accepted most places - https://www.acefitness.org/fitness-certifications/personal-trainer-certification/default.aspx .

All of PT certs have had huge jumps over the last few years, just crazy jumps. I, too, remember when most were $150-300, back in the early 2010s.

ProudVirgin69

• Getbig V
  • hardcore redneck electric champion
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2024, 03:46:46 AM »
ACE is a tiny bit cheaper, and still accepted most places - https://www.acefitness.org/fitness-certifications/personal-trainer-certification/default.aspx .

All of PT certs have had huge jumps over the last few years, just crazy jumps. I, too, remember when most were $150-300, back in the early 2010s.

Thanks for the suggestion.  This was just something I was going to do on the side, 5-10hr per week tops, so dropping several hundred dollars on something I’m not sure I’ll stick with isn’t appealing.