Author Topic: new to this...  (Read 5677 times)

king

• Getbig III
new to this...
« on: May 23, 2006, 11:29:06 PM »
hey guys, i'm new to the whole "fighting" scene. could anyone give me a type of martial arts that would be best for street fighting.. just in case haha ;)  i've wrestled before so no need for that.

thanks,

king

*ChuteBoxe*

• Getbig IV
Re: new to this...
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2006, 12:21:11 AM »
For "Street Fighting", I would have to recommend a strong striking element. (Muay Thai or Boxing)  Your wrestling expierience should help you avoid being taken down.  Jiu Jitsu is good for MMA, but in a streetfight it's pretty hard to use when the fight is not one on one, or when weapons come in to play.  In a nutshell go with boxing or muay thai, or just watch this...
&search=bas
Predictions
 40/61

G

• Getbig III
  • Getbig!
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2006, 12:46:11 AM »
Grappling gives you a chance to successfully fight opponents a lot bigger than you, compared to striking.I personally cosider myself a decent striker, but if i have to fight somebody 4 - 5 - inches or more taller than me, my wight class or heavier i would defenitely go on the ground.

*ChuteBoxe*

• Getbig IV
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2006, 01:02:29 AM »
Grappling gives you a chance to successfully fight opponents a lot bigger than you, compared to striking.I personally cosider myself a decent striker, but if i have to fight somebody 4 - 5 - inches or more taller than me, my wight class or heavier i would defenitely go on the ground.

He is talking about street fighting, grappling loses it's effectiveness when you start getting bottles broken over your head, or if you go for an armbar and one of the guys friends jumps in and kicks you in the face.  Plus, if you do take the fight to the ground, chances are you are gonna be rolling around on concrete or gravel,hitting parked cars, or running into walls and shit like that. 
Predictions
 40/61

G

• Getbig III
  • Getbig!