Author Topic: Another shithead athlete refers to himself as a soldier.  (Read 819 times)

ieffinhatecardio

• Getbig V
  • More proof God is a man.
Another shithead athlete refers to himself as a soldier.
« on: October 02, 2007, 11:21:44 AM »
Kobe Bryant at a media day for the Lakers joined Kellen Winslow in making the stupid decision of calling himself a soldier during a time of war.

Here's his quote "I'm a soldier. It's not my decision to say whether or not we should fight the war," he said. "My focus and my mind has to be on this team. We have an uphill battle. I'm going to do all I can to help us win."

http://msn.foxsports.com/nba/story/7287380

Kobe shows, ready to play for Lakers
/ Associated Press
Posted: 19 hours ago

Where's Kobe?

There was some uncertainty regarding Kobe Bryant's presence at media day Monday, and it increased after the entire Los Angeles Lakers' roster except Bryant hit the floor for preseason promos and interviews shortly after the scheduled 10 a.m. start.

As it turned out, there was no mystery.

"He's running late. He had a doctor's appointment this morning," said Bryant's spokeswoman, Catherine Sebring, who lent a bit of intrigue last week by declining comment when asked about Bryant's plans.

Sure enough, with all eyes on the training room door, Bryant emerged at 10:34, and all was right in the Lakers' world — at least for the time being.

Bryant hadn't said much about the Lakers since late May after calling the team's front office a mess and requesting a trade.

The two-time defending NBA scoring champion said he decided to keep a low profile after that, and the team did the same.

"We purposely didn't say anything because we wanted to keep things to ourselves," he said. "There was just too much going on — things get misconstrued. We don't need that. We don't need any distractions for the season. There was never a doubt I was coming to camp. They knew that, I knew that.