Author Topic: Should schools convert to a 4 Day Week for their students?  (Read 693 times)

LurkerNoMore

• Getbig V
  • Dumb people think Trump is smart.
There is a lot of talk here in FL about schools opting to convert a 4 day school schedule for students.

Do you think this is a good or bad thing?  Kids seem to get more days off now than they should.  I remember when I was in school (and I am only 28, so only 6 years have passed since I finished my masters), we got maybe 1 teachers planning day every 3 months.  So unless you were sick, your mom let you stay out, or you skipped school you had to wait for Labor Day, Thanksgiving, Xmas/NYE, and Memorial Day to have an extra free day. 

I see school schedules here that include at LEAST 3 early release days PER MONTH.  And at least 1 official "school closing" per month.  And that is just the days that are published on the calendar that is made available to the public each year.  They often add more free days or early release days as well that isn't listed.  Some at the last minute.  Every now and then I hear workers getting frustrated about "Little Johnny just called and said I need to pick him up from school because they said today was early release day.."  etc...

But all that aside, do you think a 4 day school week will benefit the students or not?  The teachers?  (or anyone else?  Day care and baby sitters for the extra day I suppose would benefit.)

Dos Equis

• Getbig V
  • I am. The most interesting man in the world. (Not)
Re: Should schools convert to a 4 Day Week for their students?
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2009, 12:15:26 PM »
For what purpose? 

Soul Crusher

• Competitors
  • Getbig V
  • Doesnt lie about lifting.
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2009, 12:16:42 PM »
There is a lot of talk here in FL about schools opting to convert a 4 day school schedule for students.