Author Topic: My Stats  (Read 4390 times)

Big-C

• Getbig II
My Stats
« on: August 11, 2009, 11:02:36 AM »
   Hey Fellas Im 5"11 250lbs 22% bf
         Bench /365
         d lift  /5 plates
         squat / 4 plates
  Anyways how do meets work? What weight classes are there I guess im asking if id be wasting time with what i lift to go to a meet?

jude2

• Competitors II
  • Getbig V
  • Getbig!
Re: My Stats
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2009, 07:21:02 PM »
You need to come down to the 242# or 225# class.  If you are young than it is ok.  365 bench, 495 deadlift, and 405 squat.  I am in the 165 class and can dead and squat more than that and bench 350, but I have been training for 29 years.  Never waste of time to do something you like.  Just make your opening lifts what you can lift.  I see alot of people bombing out on their first lifts.

Obvious Gimmick

• Getbig V
  • I'd hit it
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2009, 07:41:20 PM »
kinda in the same boat. Ive never competed but am entering my first comp in a few weeks. i dont expect to go and amaze anyone. but i have a set number that im shooting for and when i get it, itll be a win for me.

im also very nervous about it, but screw it what are they going to do if i suck. take away my birthday?

Big-C

• Getbig II
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2009, 09:36:29 PM »
yeah i could get down to the 242 pretty easy... My biggest concern is my squat... My friends all say i should be getting more..

Stubborn

• Competitors II
  • Getbig IV
  • Who wants a mustache ride?
« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2009, 11:24:18 PM »
Quick answer: get in a meet FAST! You have NOTHING to lose. Its a lot of fun, you will meet many like minded people, and you will surely come out of it with a new vigor about lifting.

This is similar to the advice I was given some time ago and I definitely never regretted it.

Good luck!

Obvious Gimmick

• Getbig V
  • I'd hit it
« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2009, 07:01:46 AM »