Author Topic: This part of ebook 5/3/1 made me laugh hard  (Read 1642 times)

Stark

• Getbig V
This part of ebook 5/3/1 made me laugh hard
« on: April 28, 2010, 01:45:16 PM »
I am searching for ways to still working out even after I believe my time will be very short due to my wife giving birth in 6 weeks.
So I am studying 5/3/1 powerlifting and subsequently bought his ebook.

There is a pasage that made me laugh, and only because the mental picture nearly killed me :D

Assistance Work #3: I’m Not Doing Jack Shit

This is my favorite. I don’t recommend it, but it’s useful for non-beginners who have limited time to train. The I’m Not Doing Jack Shit program entails walking into the weight room, doing the big lift for the day (bench, squat, military or deadlift), and then walking out. I’ve done this plenty of times, especially when I’ve trained in commercial gyms. There are some advantages to this. You’ll be supremely focused on one thing: getting your sets done and breaking a PR. You won’t be worried about your assistance work, whether a machine is going to be available, or how much good mornings suck. I’ve made this deal with myself many times before I’ve trained: If I do X weight for X amount of reps, I’m leaving. I do this fairly often, and I’m sure it seems odd.

I recently went to a commercial gym, warmed up, did my working sets and set a huge PR. I sat there for a little while, then decided to leave. As I was walking out, I looked around at the other people training, and I wondered whether anyone else had set a personal record that day. For my part, I know I walked out of there better than I did when I walked in.

El Diablo Blanco

• Getbig V
  • Nom Nom Nom Nom
Re: This part of ebook 5/3/1 made me laugh hard
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2010, 01:47:31 PM »
I am searching for ways to still working out even after I believe my time will be very short due to my wife giving birth in 6 weeks.