Getbig Bodybuilding, Figure and Fitness Forums
October 20, 2018, 05:34:41 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 56 57 [58] 59   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: What are you reading?  (Read 326634 times)
Tovarishch_Smert
Getbig II
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 108

A lie told often enough becomes truth.


« Reply #1425 on: May 13, 2018, 03:10:06 PM »

Report to moderator   Logged
Tovarishch_Smert
Getbig II
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 108

A lie told often enough becomes truth.


« Reply #1426 on: May 13, 2018, 03:14:37 PM »

and this.... Catechism of a Revolutionary



Report to moderator   Logged
Meta-physical
Guest
« Reply #1427 on: June 08, 2018, 04:05:59 AM »

I was reading a short essay by Isaiah Berlin this morning, which made reference to Dostoevsky's commemorative speech about Pushkin. Coincidentally, it was on this very day in 1880 that he delivered it, so its seems appropriate to share it:

http://web.archive.org/web/20050207093332/http://www.dwightwebber.com/pushkinspeech.html
Report to moderator   Logged
The Ugly
Getbig V
*****
Posts: 21328



« Reply #1428 on: June 14, 2018, 05:16:48 PM »

Just picked up The North Water by Ian McGuire. Lots of positive reviews and comparisons to McCarthy. Love me some McCarthy.

Yup. Read it months ago. Solid book. Maybe best book I've read in a year. Good stuff.  Smiley

You were correct, sir. Fantastic book, finally got around to it.
Report to moderator   Logged
HerbertSward
Getbig I
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #1429 on: June 21, 2018, 04:12:47 AM »

The_Teachings_of_Don_Jua n:
Report to moderator   Logged
Hypo
Getbig III
***
Posts: 854


« Reply #1430 on: June 24, 2018, 03:52:26 AM »

Just finished. EPIC. Truly epic. Even by today's standards.

Report to moderator   Logged
illuminati
Competitors II
Getbig V
******
Gender: Male
Posts: 6564


The Strongest Shall Survive.


« Reply #1431 on: June 24, 2018, 04:11:27 AM »

The Dancing Wu Li Masters

About Quantum Physics - interesting / thought provoking/ tough read.
Report to moderator   Logged
BB
Getbig V
*****
Posts: 9312


I hope I'm not boring you.


« Reply #1432 on: June 25, 2018, 10:55:10 AM »

.


Very fine, hard boiled urban crime novel set in the late 60's - early 70's Detroit heroin trade. Vern E. Smith was a career newspaper man for a number of periodicals, and this book grew out of one of the stories he covered. He only wrote this novel in the last 45 years, and that is a real shame, as this one has it all - double crosses, sleazy villians, and the bleak landscape that turns decent noir into great noir. Fans of David Simon, George Pelecanos, etc.... will see similarities in their work and this. Also fans of Elmore Leonard and Shane Stevens (another semi forgotten urban noir master) will find it enjoyable too.

If there is one criticism I have about it, it is the use of street names that sound similar. While it adds an air of authenticity to the writing, it may be slightly confusing for the casual reader.  

4.5/5. Great cover art too.
Report to moderator   Logged
sync pulse
Getbig V
*****
Posts: 4631



« Reply #1433 on: June 26, 2018, 04:29:28 AM »

I found some of my old Juvenile Adventure Novels in my mom's attic.

This is the best of the bunch because it actually has a great "McGuffin".  A rogue industrialist is stealing industrial secrets with an ultra-sonic device that gives people you aim it at an epileptic fit.  His gang is going around using it to knock out sentries and stealing classified material from labs around Maryland.  It was written in 1948 and so is written for literate children.

It would make a wonderful movie if you made it set in 1948.


* whisperingbox.jpg (134.66 KB, 357x550 - viewed 230 times.)
Report to moderator   Logged
CalvinH
Getbig V
*****
Posts: 20779


Team MOAB


« Reply #1434 on: June 29, 2018, 09:26:39 AM »

Peter Kirsanow-Target Omega...Damn! I was surprised how good the book was
Second Strike-while not as good as the first I still enjoyed it.
Report to moderator   Logged
Obvious Gimmick
Getbig V
*****
Posts: 5762


I'd hit it


« Reply #1435 on: July 19, 2018, 08:23:35 PM »

Crime and punishment: excellent
Madame Bovary: more excellenter
Report to moderator   Logged
dr.chimps
Getbig V
*****
Posts: 28586


Chimpus ergo sum


« Reply #1436 on: July 21, 2018, 12:43:15 AM »

Struggling through The Anubis Gates by Tim Powers. Supposed to be a great time-travel thingy. Oh, boy. Crappy writing and plotting.  If I get through 4-6 pages/night, I rock.  
Report to moderator   Logged
Griffith
Getbig V
*****
Posts: 4458


....


« Reply #1437 on: July 31, 2018, 12:28:45 AM »

Report to moderator   Logged
Primemuscle
Getbig V
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 21537


Be honest...


« Reply #1438 on: July 31, 2018, 12:30:11 AM »

Not what I should be reading, that's for sure.
Report to moderator   Logged
TheGrinch
Getbig IV
****
Gender: Male
Posts: 1965


« Reply #1439 on: July 31, 2018, 10:36:14 AM »

great reads



https://www.amazon.com/White-Girl-Bleed-Lot-Violence/dp/1938067061




https://www.amazon.com/Dont-Make-Black-Kids-Angry/dp/1508585024

Report to moderator   Logged
Taffin
Getbig V
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 5299


OK, I'll help - on one condition...


« Reply #1440 on: July 31, 2018, 04:20:20 PM »

Crime and punishment: excellent
Madame Bovary: more excellenter

Good call  Cool

Honestly one of my favorite books of all time.  Funny really, because it was one of those books I read because I was supposed to, rather than by choice - then from page 1 it was (to my absolute surpise) a real page turner and I devoured the things over the next few days.

It was also my introduction to the whole world of Russian patronymics and the complexities of their arcane pre-revolutionary system of governance, which came in useful for the other Russian classics after that... (Chekov and Gogol being other favorites).

Haven't read Madame Bovary yet - suppose I should get round to it now it's been mentioned...

Cheers

Report to moderator   Logged

T
FitnessFrenzy
Getbig V
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 22964



WWW
« Reply #1441 on: August 01, 2018, 06:00:37 AM »

I am reading a book, currently, about central banking policies in the 1920's. A bit dry, but I will finish it eventually.
Report to moderator   Logged
TheGrinch
Getbig IV
****
Gender: Male
Posts: 1965


« Reply #1442 on: August 01, 2018, 07:16:02 AM »

I am reading a book, currently, about central banking policies in the 1920's. A bit dry, but I will finish it eventually.

The Reminiscences of a Stock Operator




great book
Report to moderator   Logged
FitnessFrenzy
Getbig V
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 22964



WWW
« Reply #1443 on: August 03, 2018, 12:59:34 PM »

Crime and punishment: excellent

I recommend The House of the Dead, also by Fyodor Dostoevsky
Report to moderator   Logged
OlympiaGym
Getbig IV
****
Posts: 1148


« Reply #1444 on: September 10, 2018, 09:24:27 AM »

Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil by John Berendt. Excellent book that spent 216 weeks on the NYT best seller list. The story unfolds in Savannah, Georgia, home of Congregation Mickve Isreal, first organized in 1735.
Report to moderator   Logged
Primemuscle
Getbig V
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 21537


Be honest...


« Reply #1445 on: September 10, 2018, 03:03:52 PM »

Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil by John Berendt. Excellent book that spent 216 weeks on the NYT best seller list. The story unfolds in Savannah, Georgia, home of Congregation Mickve Isreal, first organized in 1735.

This is a great book. It's been a long time since I read it. Maybe I'll read it again if I can find it one of my boxes of books up in the attic.
Report to moderator   Logged
CalvinH
Getbig V
*****
Posts: 20779


Team MOAB


« Reply #1446 on: September 12, 2018, 12:11:40 PM »

Raiders Wake by James L Nelson.
It's a series on Vikings in Ireland...not bad at all.
Report to moderator   Logged
OlympiaGym
Getbig IV
****
Posts: 1148


« Reply #1447 on: September 14, 2018, 11:15:20 AM »

Raiders Wake by James L Nelson.
It's a series on Vikings in Ireland...not bad at all.

Comparable to Cornwell?
Report to moderator   Logged
CalvinH
Getbig V
*****
Posts: 20779


Team MOAB


« Reply #1448 on: September 15, 2018, 03:59:31 AM »

Comparable to Cornwell?


Good but not the same level as Cornwell.
Report to moderator   Logged
leshion
Getbig I
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #1449 on: October 05, 2018, 09:41:21 PM »

100 Days of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. Love the magic realism genre because of his books.
Report to moderator   Logged
Pages: 1 ... 56 57 [58] 59   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Theme created by Egad Community. Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!