Author Topic: A pissed off photographer Terry Goodlad rants away  (Read 5742 times)

TK

• Competitors
  • Getbig IV
A pissed off photographer Terry Goodlad rants away
« on: December 27, 2012, 02:17:53 PM »

From Terry Goodlad

"It's been a long time coming and finally the day is almost here. As of the 15th of January 2013, the last day I am contractually obligated to The Vitrix Model Team, I am retiring from shooting for pay. It was an awesome run and while I didn't always like what I had to shoot, the people I was working for, or the "models" I was shooting...I had an amazing career that I truly loved because I love to create art.

I'm still a photographer and always will be. The difference now will be that I am going to create that art for myself rather than a client. Any commercial venture be it a magazine, corporation, ad agency, or otherwise is driven by an objective that is centered on their business focus. Decisions are made by people that have a business objective, and not a creative one. This is true even in magazine publishing. Creativity is just as rare there because most of the decision makers are not visually creative as a rule and no one ever wants to leave it up to the photographer.

Most of the magazine art directors and editorial staff I have worked had absolutely no artistic ability or vision. They just show up for work then follow a plan over and over again until they get promoted.

The pressure is off now to make magic with what most times felt like my hands tied behind my back. No more shoestring budgets, bad models, bad wardrobe, bad locations, bad ideas, and ridiculous time schedules, with the expectation that I had to somehow end up making world class content.