Author Topic: Sergio Oliva Jr. Profiled in FLEX Magazine by Peter McGough.  (Read 7272 times)

Matt

• Getbig V
  • YouTube FitnessByMatt
Sergio Oliva Jr. Profiled in FLEX Magazine by Peter McGough.
« on: October 14, 2017, 12:28:08 AM »
In the latest FLEX magazine that I have seen - October 2017 - Sergio was recognized as the rookie of the year, although I suspect that is not an official designation.

Incidentally, Peter McGough is back with FLEX magazine, now that Muscular Development magazine is basically insolvent.  I told Ron Harris I would contribute to MD for free, but some dick on Getbig complained to him over my being "racist".  ::)  Say what you will about me, I am an articulate writer, and have been around the expo and pro scene long enough to have a wealth of knowledge to write bodybuilding articles about.

Anyway, I think - since Sergio Jr. is most likely reading this right now  ;D - that comparisons to his father REALLY have to stop being made.  Admittedly, I had/have a similar relationship with my mother, which is just a nagging/annoying relationship more than a healthy parent/child relationship.

Sergio Jr. definitely admires his father's genetics, and takes after him in certain key ways, but his father did virtually nothing to help him get where he is.  I will say that by virtue of being his father's namesake, and doing the "Myth" pose, that it likely vaulted him to 1st place, when allegedly - according to Sergio Jr. himself in the Skype interview that Dave Palumbo did with him post-NY PRO win, Sasan Heirati looked good enough for 1st.  I believe is what Sergio said anyway, but I can't recall.  I will say this - for 6th place, Sasan Heirati looked VERY good, and obviously name recognition - or lack of it - played a factor in these placings.