Author Topic: What's the best home gym?  (Read 5325 times)

LT

• Getbig II
What's the best home gym?
« on: February 20, 2007, 11:00:59 PM »
I want get some feed back about home gyms. I have been working at a gym for 11 years. I'm 31 years old with a baby on the way and my wife and I are looking to by a new home. I want to buy a home gym so I can work out at home if I can't make it to the gym. Is the BOFLEX any good or is it garbage? Should I just get a bench, barbell, dumbbells,  and Multi sport gyms? What kind of home gym can I get that covers all the muscle work outs?

Bluto

• Getbig V
  • Well?
Re: What's the best home gym?
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2007, 02:16:17 AM »
most that are serious about their homegym get a powerrack so they can squat.hardest part to train at homei is legs... kinda depends if you just want to maintain what you allready got or build some serious muscle... but i guess it depends on how much you want to spend and if you got room for it. some of these racks also allow chins and even dips... put a bench under it and you can safely do benchpresses to without a spotter.

problem with dumbbells is that they tend to get expensive when you buy a lot of them and just a few pairs wont do...

a dips/chins like linked above isnt bad... that'd take care of back, chest, triceps and biceps... get a barbbell and you can do shoulders, legs, traps etc too

stick around, im sure there'll be more advice coming  :)
Z

Luolamies

• Getbig IV
  • Getbig!
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2007, 02:22:37 AM »
If i were you, iŽd buy olympic barbell, plenty of plates, some heavy dumbells, couple of adjustable dumbells (for warming up). Proper bench and a squat rack. If you still got dough get a cable station for rows, curls, pushdowns etc.
Stay away from those "multi-all-in-one-home-systems" most of them are crap and even if youŽd be able to find a decent one it canŽt replace "good ole compound exercices" you can do with free weights.

Good luck...
TEST+DECA+DBOL=BIG