Author Topic: Pec training. Is it possible to train upper/lower pecs?  (Read 9706 times)

turnerg31

• Getbig III
  • Take that Bitches!
Pec training. Is it possible to train upper/lower pecs?
« on: November 22, 2008, 06:21:20 AM »
I'm a student of Exercise Physiology (Furman Univ. 1990) and this has been one of the debates that has raged on as long as I can remember.  Mostly between bodybuilders and those that claim to be educated on the subject.  Many claim that there is no way to differentiate between training your upper and lower pecs.  This may have been a subject debated on this forum before but I'd like to get some opinions from some of you.  What do you think? Upper? Lower? or just Pecs.  Can you differentiate and train each area of the pecs separately?

Pat

JimmyJam1974

• Getbig V
  • "No sir, the ball ain't heavy." - Herschel Walker
Re: Pec training. Is it possible to train upper/lower pecs?
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2008, 06:23:51 AM »
I don't think you can isolate one ot the other but one can put emphases on upper/lower. First incline vs decline. Then the lifter has to make that mind-muscle connection
U

turnerg31

• Getbig III
  • Take that Bitches!
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2008, 06:43:19 AM »
I don't think you can isolate one ot the other but one can put emphases on upper/lower. First incline vs decline. Then the lifter has to make that mind-muscle connection

So, if you can't isolate one or the other then what should  happen is if someone does inclines only to build the upper part of his chest, it should actually result in overall chest development? I'm just asking to get clarification on your response. It should not leave a person with a developed upper chest and underdeveloped lower chest.  (If you can't isolate one or the other)

untamedsense

• Getbig II
  • Bigger, Better, Badder!!!
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2008, 01:44:23 PM »