Author Topic: Review of Layne Norton's "Unleashed!" DVD  (Read 19015 times)

gatomjp

• Getbig III
  • Getbig!
Review of Layne Norton's "Unleashed!" DVD
« on: February 17, 2009, 09:12:21 AM »
Layne Norton - “Unleashed”
http://www.biolayne.com/

I find myself torn between wanting to review this DVD from a videographer’s point of view and as a fan of bodybuilding. “Unleashed” excels on both counts!

As a videographer I can really appreciate the skill with which Unleashed is put together. Though highly polished and professional, make no mistake, this isn’t a film and makes no attempt to feel like a “movie”. Rather , “Unleashed” is a great example of what I would call a high-energy video style.

Quick zooms, active hand-held camera work and quick cutting all add up to give this DVD a very edgy, modern feel. (Think LOST, with muscles!) Gym footage is crisp and well lit. Interviews are nicely composed. Music is used tastefully and Layne’s voice is clear, whether in interview or live in the gym. In short, this is a top notch production by Paul Glinski and Proedit.

Layne is a natural, in more ways than one. Not only is he a drug-free IFPA and NGA pro bodybuilder, but he is also very comfortable and eloquent in front of the camera. Layne sure walks the walk, that is evident from his physique as seen in the gym and in contest footage winning the NGA Heart of America competition in 2006. But he also can talk the talk.

And talk he does!! There is so much good information about nutrition and training on this DVD that many aspiring bodybuilders may wear out the reverse button on their remote controls! “What did he just say?? I gotta write that down!”

The 35 minute minute main feature is packed with great footage and information. Watching this it quickly becomes apparent that Layne knows his stuff. He’s a graduate student studying muscle protein metabolism, so when Layne talks nutrition, I listen!