Author Topic: Anyone tried Arnold's workout?  (Read 5536 times)

Mysticobra

• Getbig II
  • GET BIG!
Anyone tried Arnold's workout?
« on: September 20, 2006, 01:13:13 PM »
I was looking at his book again and decided to try his workouts.  He has a Basic Level 1 and 2, then Advanced Level 1 and 2, and finally a Competition Level 1 and 2.  I have been working out for probably 8 years or so, but never super hardcore or anything.  I'm 6'0" and got up to 195lbs and was benching 340lbs.  I then decided to drop weight and cut up down to 165lbs.  I lost some muscle mass but have been working on regaining it as I now bench about 325lbs.  My question is has anyone done these workouts and if so what level should I be?  I started at the Advanced Level 1 and it seems crazy to me.  My partner and I cut out all the thighs and calves and we worked out super fast with high intensity the whole workout only resting while the other was lifting so about 45secs rest.  (We usually get 3 mins or so) The workout still took us 2 hrs!!!  Do you guys think that Basic is for a non professional, Advanced is for a pro but just not in competition mode and competition is for the pro getting ready to compete?  Because if advanced is for the average person that wants to get ripped it seems crazy to spend 3hrs a day 6 days a week in the gym.  Here is the workout we tried to finish.  We have since decided to modify it working out 5 days a week doing Monday/Fri: Chest, back and abs.  Weds/Sat: Shoulders, arms, abs. Tues: Legs and abs.

Monday/Wednesday/Friday

Chest

Barbell Bench Press                   4 sets: 1 set of 15 rep warm-up;
                                             sets of 10, 8, 6, 4 reps—
                                             stripping last two sets   
Barbell Incline Bench Press         4 sets: same formula as Bench Presses
                                             Every third workout, substitute Dumbbell Presses and Incline Dumbbell Presses