Author Topic: OK...seriously getting frustrated!  (Read 2940 times)

jonsande

• Getbig II
OK...seriously getting frustrated!
« on: May 22, 2007, 07:05:03 PM »
Yo all,

It seems as though I've hit a wall with my size.  I can't get any larger than what I am.  I'm getting desperate for some input, as well as thinking crazily enough to start doing research on stacking up on some roids. 

Here's my deal: 

I've been lifting seriously for just about 3 years, during my junior year of college.  I'm 5'9", and when I started lifting, I weighed around 130 lbs and was a former long distance runner for track and cross country (so I was basically skinny as hell). 

My primary training partner was a powerlifter, so I generally followed a powerlifting approach to bodybuilding and have since sort of changed it to a powerbodybuilding style...i.e. heavy basics but a little more inclusion of isolation exercises and volume. 

I find that I'm gradually still getting stronger, but I can't seem to get any fucking bigger!  Here's a prime example.  Over the last year, I've bumped up my squatting from a 325 one rep max to doing a working sets of 315, 320, yet there's almost no size increase or cuts in my thighs.  And this is real squatting; no partials.  Ass to the grass. 

Same for deadlifting.  About this time a year ago, I could only get 315 up once.  Now, I do working sets of about 6 to 8 reps with 320, 325 lbs.  Any noticeable changes in back thickness?  Not really. 

All of my exercises are heavier than ever, both my core lifts and my isolations.  I can curl a 100lb barbell for reps, hammer curl 55lb dumbells for reps, just about stack the entire machine for straight bar tricep pushdowns and etc - all in very clean form, but my arms only measure 15.5 inches around not pumped.