Author Topic: Arthritis in Lower Back  (Read 4652 times)

octobermajik

• Getbig II
  • Getbig!
Arthritis in Lower Back
« on: May 31, 2008, 09:39:09 AM »
What's up all. Recently after some major back pain and a trip to the doctor's, I was diagnosed with arthritis in my lower back. I've had back pain off and on for the last 20 years (will be 40 soon), but this time it felt somewhat different.

Should I just stick with Hammer Strength machines for working out my lower back? I'm just trying to get to a point where I don't make the condition worse, and build up strength back there. I've been working out solidly for about 12 years now (but only really began to know what I was doing within the last four), and have focused on my lower back with deadlifting, bent over rows, etc. But now the doc says these are probably out of the question now.

Any advice or direction as to what to do would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

eho

• Getbig II
  • Support Canadian Chiropractic
Re: Arthritis in Lower Back
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2008, 08:50:54 PM »
What's up Octobermajik

I'd like to know more about what you think caused the pain:
- how long have you had pain, how bad is it now?
- whether there was some injury or traumatic event, or if you felt something one time while working out?
- can it be occupational?  what kind of work do you do?
- do you have any pain going down your but or leg?

I'm also wondering about your form when doing deadlift and bent over row.  12 years of working out is great, but we all develop our habits in the gym.   Some of them good, some of them bad.  Always keep a natural curve in your lower back, so as not to allow it to hunch over.