Author Topic: What do do when the ligaments / tendons won't do a lift even though the muscles  (Read 1200 times)

ronbrgundy

• Getbig II
  • You stay classy
I have exercises where my muscles are good to go but my ligaments and tendons (my body) is telling me don't do the lift that heavy. 

I know im not the only person to ever go through this.  I'm 28.  I have been lifting off and on for 10 years.  After a long hiatus just got serious in the last 2 months. 

So the answer is to document my lifts, keep the reps high on those that give me problems, stretch before and after?  What else? 

Second part of the question: What diet or supplements will help me with joints / ligaments / tendons?  The Omega 3's? What else? 

Please.. good answers.. don't break my balls.. too hard  ;D

_bruce_

• Getbig V
  • Sam Sesambröt Sulek
How are they telling you?

jpm101

• Getbig IV
Not sure I have ever heard a question quite stated that way. I'll let someone else answer it. Perhaps RB's  experienced BB'ing workout partners he has mentioned many times before. Hint: confidence and understanding BB'ing 101 can be an importing element in training. Good Luck.
F

dyslexic

• Getbig V
  • baddoggy
If you truly feel that your connective tissue is not prepared for the lifts that you perceive, what on earth would make you believe that your muscles are "good to go?"

Obviously your muscles are not prepared to lift what you might prefer. The Golgi tendon response is taught only through slow, careful and deliberate increases in tension/weight.

I'm sure  there are lots of folks who have an intended perception of what they think they should be lifting, but what are these thoughts based upon? The past? What youv'e read? Seeing a "I bench 300lb" T-shirt? Reading too many BB mags?

You may even want to consider the fact that first and foremost, your CNS must be prepared for an inroad- or a dent in its recovery abilities. Are you prepared for that?