Author Topic: High reps?  (Read 9692 times)

oldtimer1

• Getbig V
  • Getbig!
High reps?
« on: March 31, 2012, 01:56:13 PM »
I have always been a 6 to 8 reps kind of trainer. I'm about to up the reps per set drastically like 12 to 15.  I have been training for over 35 years and it's about time to give up the grinding heavy stuff. I know it's hurts the ego to be in a gym doing high reps with a short rest inbetween sets cause it really limits the amount of weight you can lift.

One guy I respect said you have to swallow your pride.  It's a new challenge. Now it's how far I can push my endurance with the weights.  It's great to load up the bar or go to the right side of the dumbbell rack where the big weights are. For me it's time to focus on another goal.  

WOOO

• Getbig V
  • Fuck the mods
Re: High reps?
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2012, 02:04:31 PM »
I've been there for about 2 years now dude... you'll be surprised to find that you feel stronger and some of your muscles may actually look (and be) bigger... my chest, arms and lats look and are bigger today than they were 2 years ago even though i train them with significantly less weight

i liked using heavy poundages for years and believe that it's a great way to build a good foundation... but in your mid-30s or early 40s i think it makes sense to train for longevity...

oldtimer1

• Getbig V
  • Getbig!
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2012, 02:45:44 PM »
I think I had my best years in bodybuilding in my mid 40's. I ran decent times in 5K's and lifted hard for heavy 6 to 8 reps. When I hear guys say it's over in your 40's I really never felt it.   I really pushed what was for me heavy weights back then. I think most guys who don't use steroids will tell you as you approach your mid 50's, you really begin to see aging in your athletics. 

WOOO

• Getbig V
  • Fuck the mods
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2012, 03:21:18 PM »